#Apple Airport Extreme due for firmware update? iCloud causing mobile me error to flash on base station?

I have just completed an upgrade to iOS 5 on my iPhone and upgraded my Mac computers to OS X Lion 10.7.2 in order to access all the iCloud goodness. However, since doing that my Airport Extreme base station is flashing orange. When you go in to the Airport Utility the base station reports that my mobile me userid and password is wrong.

Airport_utility_-_extreme

My userid and password is unchanged from before the iCloud upgrade. I was able to suppress the error by choosing to ignore the error but it looks like we need an Airport EXtreme Firmware update in order to connect with the Back-to-my-Mac feature that is now part of iCloud.

Has anybody else experienced this issue? Is this something that Apple overlooked in the major sweep of upgrades to support iCloud? It seems a little strange because the mobile me mail address and password are migrated to iCloud. May be Apple have changed the target server and when people migrate from Mobile Me to iCloud they are disabling the account on the Mobile Me platform after migrating to iCloud, but the Airport Extreme is still pointing to Back-To-My-Mac on the Mobile Me platform and the userid and password combination is disabled. This is my theory. Can anyone confirm?

I will try to use the Back-To-My-Mac feature and see if I can reach my Airport Extreme when I am away from home. 
12 thoughts on “#Apple Airport Extreme due for firmware update? iCloud causing mobile me error to flash on base station?

  1. <html><head></head><body style="word-wrap: break-word; -webkit-nbsp-mode: space; -webkit-line-break: after-white-space; ">Good news! I rebooted my airport today and went in to the Airport utility.&nbsp;<div>The error for Mobile Me has gone away.</div><div><br></div><div>I assume Apple fixed the issue at the server end in the cloud.</div><div><br></div><div><br></div><div><br></div><div><br><div><div></div></div></div></body></html>

  2. <html><head></head><body style="word-wrap: break-word; -webkit-nbsp-mode: space; -webkit-line-break: after-white-space; ">The Document syncing in iCloud is replacing iDisk.<div><br></div><div>I am not holding my breath on getting iDisk back. I recommend that you look at something like DropBox.&nbsp;</div><div><br></div><div>Dropbox is a great tool. It works across many platforms, including the iPhone and iPad. &nbsp;In addition a number of Mac Apps like 1Password work with Dropbox to make their data files portable across platforms.</div><div><br></div><div><br></div><div><br></div><div><br></div><div><br><div><div></div></div></div></body></html>

  3. <html><head></head><body style="word-wrap: break-word; -webkit-nbsp-mode: space; -webkit-line-break: after-white-space; ">Yes,<div><br></div><div>The router still works. You can suppress the error using the Apple Airport Utility.&nbsp;</div><div><br></div><div>If you have a mac inside your network with back to my mac enabled you can still get to that machine using the back to my mac feature.&nbsp;</div><div><br></div><div><br></div><div><br><div><div></div></div></div></body></html>

  4. <html><head></head><body style="word-wrap: break-word; -webkit-nbsp-mode: space; -webkit-line-break: after-white-space; ">Thanks, I had figured that out, but it is annoying nonetheless. There are other issues withiCloud that Apple has to sort out as well as this one. I have for example upgraded some of my computers to Lion but kept one Lion-free so that I could continue to use some older software. That worked until I did the iCloud transfer. Now calendars and some email is problematical at that location.<div>Bryan<br><div><br><div><div></div></div></div></div></body></html>

  5. <html><head></head><body style="word-wrap: break-word; -webkit-nbsp-mode: space; -webkit-line-break: after-white-space; "><div><br></div><div>This might help you:</div><div><br></div><div><span class="Apple-style-span" style="font-family: verdana, geneva, lucida, ‘lucida grande’, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; "><table id="post13592223" class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="background-image: initial; background-attachment: initial; background-origin: initial; background-clip: initial; background-color: rgb(187, 187, 187); color: rgb(0, 0, 0); border-top-width: 1px; border-right-width: 1px; border-bottom-width: 1px; border-left-width: 1px; border-top-style: solid; border-right-style: solid; border-bottom-style: solid; border-left-style: solid; border-top-color: rgb(102, 102, 102); border-right-color: rgb(102, 102, 102); border-bottom-color: rgb(102, 102, 102); border-left-color: rgb(102, 102, 102); background-position: initial initial; background-repeat: initial initial; "><tbody><tr valign="top"><td class="alt1" id="td_post_13592223" style="font: normal normal normal 10pt/normal verdana, geneva, lucida, ‘lucida grande’, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; background-image: initial; background-attachment: initial; background-origin: initial; background-clip: initial; background-color: rgb(250, 250, 250); color: rgb(0, 0, 0); border-right-width: 1px; border-right-style: solid; border-right-color: rgb(187, 187, 187); background-position: initial initial; background-repeat: initial initial; "><div id="post_message_13592223">Found this on another forum, and it worked for me…<br><br>Server Address: <a href="http://p06-caldav.icloud.com">p06-caldav.icloud.com</a><br><br>Just set up as a CalDav account, and used my iTunes account info for username and password. Worked like a charm. All my iCloud calendars just popped up.<br><br>Running OS X 10.6.8, iCal 4.0.4</div></td></tr></tbody></table></span><div><br></div></div><div>Check out the full thread here:&nbsp;<a href="http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1249141">http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1249141</a></div><div><br></div><div>And this may help for the email side of the equation: &nbsp;<a href="http://www.macstories.net/news/configure-an-icloud-email-account-on-snow-leopard/">http://www.macstories.net/news/configure-an-icloud-email-account-on-snow-leopard/</a></div><div><br></div><div><br></div><div><br></div><br><div><div></div></div></body></html&gt;

  6. <html><head></head><body style="word-wrap: break-word; -webkit-nbsp-mode: space; -webkit-line-break: after-white-space; ">That’s very kind of you Mark. I will check it out tomorrow when I get to the shop.<div>Regards</div><div>Bryan<br><div><div></div></div></div></body></html>

Leave a Reply

